Ksa upholds bet365 direction over limits reaching 103% of calculated monthly income
The Ksa rejected Hillside's objection after a 12-account review found weak affordability evidence and deposit limits set close to or above monthly income.
Jump to a section
12 files · limit up to 103.12%
A declared salary is not the same as disposable income
Netherlands · Player protection
Evidence behind the story
What we checked
Primary documents
2 checked
Response record
Response included
Last source check
2 October 2026
Next scheduled review
9 October 2026
Why this matters
The 103.12% figure concerns a deposit limit, not a confirmed loss. Readers also need the distinction between a direction upheld on objection and an unknown subsequent judicial status.
Procedural status
Objection rejected; court filing not disclosed
The binding direction was upheld. The Ksa page does not disclose a later court filing or judgment; it does not establish that a filing period remains open.
The current picture
- The Ksa rejected Hillside New Media Malta's objection to a binding direction imposed in November 2025.
- The regulator reviewed 12 accounts and said some deposit limits represented between 31.82% and 103.12% of operator-calculated monthly income.
- This is a binding direction, not a financial penalty. The current Ksa page does not disclose a subsequent court filing.
Confirmed by the record
- Hillside New Media Malta Plc operates bet365 in the Dutch market.
- The binding direction was imposed on 13 November 2025 and the objection decision is dated 4 August 2026.
- The Ksa rejected the objection and published the updated case record in August 2026.
- The regulator said self-declarations checked against public CBS data or LinkedIn profiles did not adequately establish that a player could bear the financial consequences of gambling.
Not established
- The public record does not say that every bet365 customer was given an unaffordable limit.
- The direction is not a fine, licence suspension or criminal finding.
- The current Ksa page does not disclose whether Hillside filed a court appeal or whether the objection decision is final.
- The published record does not establish that every limit identified by the regulator was fully used or lost.
Sources for each key claim
Evidence map
Each core claim is paired with the document used to substantiate it. Open the record and check our reading.
The Ksa rejected Hillside’s objection. The decision was sent on 5 August and specifies a six-week court-appeal period; the current case page does not disclose a subsequent filing.
The reviewed deposit limits ranged from 31.82% to 103.12% of Hillside’s own calculated net monthly income.
The Ksa considered player declarations checked against CBS data or LinkedIn insufficient evidence of financial capacity.
The decision records later indications of progress but says those improvements did not make the original direction unjustified.
The objection failed, but this is not a fine
The Dutch gambling regulator has rejected an objection by Hillside New Media Malta Plc, the company operating bet365 in the Netherlands, against a binding direction issued on 13 November 2025. The decision keeps the regulator's instruction in place after a review of how the operator assessed whether selected players could afford their gambling.
Calling the outcome a fine would change the nature of the case. A binding direction tells a licensee to bring its conduct or controls into line with regulatory requirements. The public record does not attach a financial penalty to this decision, suspend the licence or make a criminal finding.
Why 12 player accounts drew attention
The Ksa examined 12 player accounts and concluded that Hillside did not respond adequately to signals that customers might no longer be able to bear the financial consequences of their play. It also said the operator did not take sufficient intervention measures in the reviewed cases.
This is a targeted regulatory sample, not a statement about every bet365 account in the country. Even so, the figures are difficult to dismiss: the regulator recorded deposit limits that ranged from 31.82% to 81.38% of operator-calculated net monthly income, alongside examples at 99.31% and 103.12%.
A declared income was not enough
The dispute turned partly on the evidence used to support affordability decisions. According to the objection ruling, Hillside relied in some cases on income declared by the customer and checked it against public information from Statistics Netherlands or a LinkedIn profile. The Ksa did not consider those steps sufficient proof that the customer could absorb gambling expenditure.
That distinction matters because income is not the same as disposable income. Rent, debt, dependants and other fixed costs can make identical salaries support very different levels of gambling. A public job description or national income range may test whether a declaration looks plausible, but it does not establish the money a particular player can safely lose.
The 103% figure needs context
One of the most striking figures in the record is a deposit limit equal to 103.12% of the net monthly income calculated by the operator. Another reached 99.31%. Those percentages describe limits, not confirmed monthly losses, and they come from the regulator's reviewed files rather than the operator's full customer base.
The careful conclusion is still serious. A limit set close to, or above, calculated monthly income leaves little visible room for ordinary living costs. The Ksa's position is that the operator needed stronger evidence and more effective action when the financial signals in those accounts appeared.
Hillside says its processes changed
Hillside argued that the binding direction was no longer necessary because it had improved its processes following guidance issued in March 2025. The objection record also addresses proportionality and the way the regulator assessed the customer files.
The Ksa nevertheless found the original direction justified and rejected the objection. At the same time, the decision records that later information suggested the operator was moving in the right direction. That is relevant mitigation, but it does not reverse the regulator's findings about the earlier files.
What happens next
The decision was sent on 5 August and specifies a six-week period for court appeal. More than six weeks have passed since that dispatch date. The Ksa page still describes the appeal route, but does not disclose whether Hillside filed or whether the decision is final.
The next update should therefore be procedural and evidence-led: a filed appeal, a court judgment, further compliance action or a company statement. Until then, the accurate status is a binding direction upheld on objection, based on 12 reviewed accounts, with no financial penalty attached to the published decision.
Response record
The article includes Hillside's argument that its processes improved after March 2025 guidance and the regulator's observation that later information showed progress in the right direction.
Status: included
Sources checked
Update log
2 October 2026
Checked the Hillside case page and retrieved the linked objection decision on 2 October. The direction remains upheld on objection; the page discloses no later court filing or judgment. The expired filing-period caveat and article date remain unchanged.